My Neighbourhood

These are some images from my neighbourhood.  I live in the Oxley Creek catchment in Brisbane. I never tire of walking the paths, parks and bikeways of this area. When we moved here 15 years ago an old abandoned power station stood not far from where we live. The site has been redesigned to house the new Queensland Tennis Centre, parkland and apartment buildings.  The developers have left remnants of old buildings and equipment as reminders of the built heritage of the land.  Information signs remind us of the history of this place. As I tread through this neighbourhood I am reminded of the indigenous history of the area. I can feel the spirit of the land and of the tribes who once lived here.  I honour this  special place.

 

 

Leave a Reply

