The measure of a (wo)man

image

This quote gave me cause to pause and ponder recently. It struck a chord.

Living a successful life or one of value are two vastly different concepts. I realise we all have different definitions of success and value. For me success used to be reaching a certain level of education, rising as high in ones career as one could go etc, etc.  I strove for success for many years and the getting of it was a hollow ‘victory’.

Today I endeavour to be a person of worth and value and of service to others. Today, to live a life of integrity, to be kind and just and compassionate mean so much more to me than worldly success.

Whether I will achieve the later is not yet clear or certain but the journey and the quest are gratifying.

Shannyn

Leave a Reply

