Our ageless spirit

image

You are not merely the physical body that you identify with out of habit. Your essential state is a field of infinite possibilities. Deepak Chopra

Do you ever look in the mirror and have that split second where you don’t recognise the face you see because it’s an older version of the self you feel you are?

I have, on a few occasions,  been momentarily surprised by the mature face reflected back at me.  You see, in essence, I don’t feel any different to how I did when I was younger. Oh, I’ve experienced a lot, learnt many lessons and grown as a result but the core of me, my true essence, my spirit if you will feels ageless.

I recently had a birthday and was reflecting with a friend that I felt no older but the image in the mirror tells a different story. My friend shared a conversation he had with his grandmother before she passed away at the wonderful age of 97. He asked her if she felt her life had gone quickly and she said it had “been a flash”.  She went on to say that she felt no different then, in the last stages of her life, to how she had felt as a young woman. She did, however, lament that her body could not keep up with her spirit.

I too remember visiting with my beloved grandmother, also in her late nineties when she left this world, and having the distinct sense of her spirit; her young and vibrant spirit. My Nana, despite her beautiful, soft, lived in skin and frail frame reminded me of a young girl. It was obvious over the years her body was deteriorating and she was losing mobility but she was always in essence a young woman in my mind. Her eyes twinkled with a youthfulness that belied her earth years.

Grandmothers are simply antique little girls.

Grandmothers are simply antique little girls.

My friend reminded me that while our bodies age our spirits do not. I find that at once sad and yet incredibly miraculous. Sad, because the husk that is our body changes so very rapildly and often before we are ready. Miraculous, because I believe we have a soul, a part of us that lives long after our body.  I’ve seen the soul of another shine through the eyes of a 95 year old woman, my friend has also. I’ve seen a body without the life force within it and it truly was just a shell. I’ve felt my soul, within this body of mine.

As my body ages and skews out of shape; as my hair turns silver and my face looks more like a hiking trail than a smooth untrampled plain; I am buoyed knowing my spirit, my soul, doesn’t  age. Each day I become more aware of my spirit. Each day I sense my own essence more deeply. Each day I understand better that there is a part of me that will continue long after my body retires. Each day I learn to trust and to embrace this knowledge and each day it brings me a greater sense of peace.

Within each of us lives a fascinating, vibrant essence that shines brightly.

Leave a Reply

