Scheduled fun!

We are driven by five genetic needs: survival, love and belonging, power, freedom and fun.              

                                                                                         William Glasser

Do you have a list of fun things to do in 2014?

Some years ago I began making a list of fun ways to spend time. It was like a dream list in a way. The aim was to tick off as many activities as I could in a year. The list also proved to be useful on those rare occasions when I wasn’t sure how to fill my weekend or spare moments.

What kind of things were on these lists you might ask. Well, all sorts really. Little things from going for a picnic by the river to swinging on the play equipment in a park or visiting the museum regularly.

There were also things on there I’d been wanting to try, like floating in a float tank, zorbing, walking the Milford Track. You get the picture.

After a wee hiatus of a few years I picked up the pen on New Year’s Day and created a list for 2014. It’s not done yet. I know there’s more to add but it’s a start. In my last blog I said I was going to dance more, host tea parties, go clothes shopping and have fun with it. That was just the beginning. I added a few other items and created a photo collage as a great stimulus to encourage me to play this year, get out in the world and have fun.

image

Interestingly, something new crept in this year. Challenges! Yes, a couple of things on the list are personal challenges. I decided I wanted to read more and to define it I set myself the challenge to read at least … fifty books this year (the number just popped into my head. Crazy!). On reflection, that’s a pretty tall order given all the work related reading I have to do but I’m keen and excited to see how I go. The second challenge I set myself was to take a photo a day for 365 days. What on earth will I do with all those photos you ask? Hmmm, not sure yet but I may publish them as a photo blog – daily, twice a week, weekly, monthly???

Anyway, the point is, sometimes it’s handy to plan our fun. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for spontaneity but let’s face it some of us are just not that spontaneous and when work and life demands creep in and we are tired. It’s easy to squander the weekends, sitting on the couch, mindlessly watching the television when you have no stimulus. I, and those I’ve shared this with, find when we create a list we are excited to complete a wish, tick it off and move on to a new one. When we get to the end of the year there is a sense of really having lived, of having spent our time well. We’ve swung the scales in favour of life as opposed to work being the weightier side.

It’s just a bit of fun. It’s not meant to be onerous? Some items may carry across to the following year so there is no harm done if every item isn’t ticked off. As for my challenges, again they are just a bit of fun to stretch me. If things don’t unfold as planned, hey, it’s not the end of the world. I’m just keen to have more fun and enjoyment in my life this year. Will you?

Fun is good.   Dr Seuss

3 thoughts on “Scheduled fun!

  1. Sorry about the last post. That is the problem with word pressing on the phone!

    I like having lists of fun things to do. I need to be a bit more disciplined because otherwise I only achieve one or two a year 😦

Leave a Reply

