Snakes, spiders, wallabies and chimpanzees.

image

Since the new year began many friends and acquaintances have had either dreams of or incidents involving animals. A friend had been seeing spiders on a regular basis, then one jumped onto her dinner plate (you can just imagine the hysteria that created at a dinner party), she also had a fox cross her path that same night while driving home. Another friend saw a white python in a dream, an acquaintance retold her dream which featured four wallabies and a chimpanzee and another has dreamt of dragons and seen dragon images, ornaments etc as she goes about her days.

A lot of people, and not even particularly spiritual people, are noticing the animals that present themselves and are asking questions about their meaning.  Sometimes there are messages for us in these moments. You can do searches on the internet to find out spiritual meanings of particular animals and that’s a great place to start. Read what you find from several sources and notice what really resonates or stands out for you in what is written. Take that information and see what aspect of your life it pertains to.

Another method of working out what message may be contained in your interactions with the animal kingdom is to ask yourself what that animal signifies to you. For example, I’ve had several close encounters with birds lately. Five huge pelicans flew very close overhead while I was on the beach, later that day I was able to get very close to a pelican – when others tried he flew away. While in the bush one day I happened upon a chorus of currawongs, high in the trees. I stopped to listen as the song was magnificent and I slowly started to see there were up to twenty birds sitting low on branches, not singing but also not shying away from my presence. Instead, they seemed to follow me as I moved on my way. I have birds that wake me in the morning and birds that have flown directly across my path, so close I could  feel the breeze from their wings. In these instances I ask myself what is the message here? To me birds represent flight, freedom and unconscious self-expression. So my message was to stop holding back and run with the project I had in mind. It was also about knowing it was safe to speak openly about my project and ideas.

Signs and messages come to us in many forms. You don’t have to be a cheesecloth wearing, incense waving hippy or a gypsy fortune teller (no disrespect intended to either hippies or gypsies) to believe or to benefit.  Be on the look out, be aware – what is that song that’s playing over and over in your head trying to tell you? Did a headline in the paper hold the key to a question you’ve long held? Did you turn the television on to hear a story, see a program about a problem you’ve been trying to solve? Life can be fun and if we are open and aware we can see signs and recieve guidance from the most unlikely sources.

2 thoughts on “Snakes, spiders, wallabies and chimpanzees.

  1. It is important to be open to the messages that are out there for you. All too often I have heard people say they should have listened to signs they were given!

Leave a Reply

