How twenty minutes of meditation changed my life.

image

So things heated up around here this week and I’m not talking about the weather either. My days went from relaxed quiet pottering to scheduled, busy deadline filled activity.  It has been a zero to one hundred week, in the blink of an eye.

But something interesting happened. I began the week with a positive frame of mind and resolved to remain positive and I watched as slowly the jobs, expectations and commitments rose. I watched too as the road blocks were laid down – such as no working air con, computer access issues and a myriad of other little stumbling blocks and challenges that popped up left, right and centre.

I was tired out and began to feel an all too familiar anxious stirring in my gut. Yet, at the same time, I still felt a sense of calm sitting behind it all.  I realised I was noticing my reactions to what was going on without grabbing hold of them or letting them grab hold of me. I was being the silent witness as we are taught in meditation.

This was a truly surreal experience for me. I can easily go from calm to overwhelm in next to no time but I realised I was not buying into that. Things have changed and I owe it to my twenty minute morning and evening meditation.

I’ve meditated for some time now with varying degrees of success but it wasn’t until the end of last year that I committed to sitting twice a day. Right now twenty minutes morning and evening is perfect for me. It allows me to centre myself for the day and to let go and return to centre of an evening. Instead of begrudgingly making time or skipping meditation, using tiredness as an excuse as I have in the past,  I now relish this time for myself and I haven’t missed a session since I began. I knew this simple commitment was having a great effect on me but I hadn’t realised just how powerful until I witnessed the change in my behaviour to the busy, full throttle week I’ve had.

Meditation, and my yoga practice, have been my safety nets. They have bolstered and buoyed me, they have nourished and nurtured me and they have helped me to retain my centre, my poise, my ‘self’ when it could have, as it indeed has in the past, so easily been snapped away in a whirlwind.

To meditate means to go home to yourself. Then you know how to take care of the things that are happening inside you, and you know how to take care of the things happening around you.             Thich Nhat Hanh

Blessings of peace and calm to you this week. May you return ‘home’.

Shannyn
7 thoughts on “How twenty minutes of meditation changed my life.

Leave a Reply

