Shameless magical thinking

image

I was greeted by the universe to morning and I revelled in the warmth of the moment. And so my day began with a smile and the lingering feeling of having been wrapped in a gigantic hug.

What do I mean? Well, I woke at exactly 4:44. For me the numbers 444 and 333 are significant. Whenever I see them I take note, I feel like a friend has just called to say “I’m thinking of you”.

My relationship with these special triple numbers began many years ago when I was experiencing some mighty physical, mental and emotional battles.  I would wake regularly at either 3:33 am or 4:44 am. I then started to see these numbers everywhere. On billboards, signs, in telephone numbers I was dialling, in statistics and tallies I was working with and on car number plates. Therein began my exploration into the metaphysical or the world of magic and miracles.

For me triple numbers are call signs from the universe.  Sometimes they appear to let me know I’m on track, other times it’s simply to let me know I’m not alone and that I am supported and loved.  It’s heartening and encouraging, especially when things get a little blurry in life.

I cannot tell you how many times in the last month I have woken at exactly 4:44 am or walked into the house, or glanced at the clock in my car at exactly 4:44pm or 3:33 pm.  Last week I walked by a house, that I walk by quite regularly, and saw the bin on the footpath sporting the house number. Yep, you guessed it – 444.  I’d never seen it before.  Today, after rising and meditating I took to the streets for my morning walk and was literally bombarded by triple threes and triple fours.

image

What is the meaning of all this you might wonder? I had a focus for my meditation this morning. The topic was something important to me that I’d let wane for a while and I was seeking confirmation and clarity around whether I should continue to pursue it or not.  I guess the answer is pretty clear. I’m being told to “go for it”.

‘Coincidence’ you might say. Yeah, could be. ‘Delusional’ too, you might think.  Maybe. But it’s a nice place to be. The joy and surety in life comes for me in belief and faith. I’ve mentioned before I do not follow any particular religion but have identified for myself a spiritual belief system that supports and nourishes me.  But not all my signs are as ‘random’ as triple numbers repeating themselves.

This week I attended a talk here in Brisbane by Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat Pray Love. My friend invited me and initially I had reservations as it was on the same night as my yoga class. When I weighed up the opportunity to hear an accomplished author who’d travelled across the world to be here with skipping one yoga class for the year, I  attended with a great sense of anticipation and excitement. I might mention also, I rarely go out at night these days, particularly week nights. The topic for the night was on the creative process. Imagine my surprise when Ms Gilbert began talking about magic, about ideas coming to her in dreams and  being gifted to her as if by magic.  Imagine my surprise too when she told the audience how she doesn’t remember  writing a particular piece as ‘they’ simply told her what to write.

If I wasn’t sure that the triple numbers I’d seen today, and over the last month, were encouraging me, I definitely know, as a result of attending that hour conversation with Elizabeth Gilbert that I’m being given the nod, gently pushed to follow my path and  strongly encouraged by the universe to go for gold.

Are you open to the signs around you? I’d love to hear your stories.

Shamelessly yours in the magic and wonder of the universe,
Shannyn

2 thoughts on “Shameless magical thinking

  1. Awesome post. That’s freaky about the repeated numbers! I love getting signs and I love coincidences. We received a letter from a friend recommending a certain real estate agent in the area we were looking to rent in. Turns out, a few weeks down the track, a place came up for rent advertised by that same agent and when we checked it out, we both said ‘this is it!’ We applied and got the place. Kinda freaky but kinda cool too!

    • Nick, how cool is that! The universe conspired to find the best place for you to live. It’s easy to dismiss and miss the signs we are sent, especially when we get caught up in the busyness of life. I like to think it’s synchronicity. So, so cool.

Leave a Reply

