Celebrating life with a Love List. Do you have one?

Life isn’t a matter of milestones but of moments.
Rose Kennedy

Excited and full of anticipation.

Excited and full of anticipation.

I recently completed a three day hike. Not a long hike compared to others I’ve done, but it’s one I’ve long wanted to do.  When I first visited the Australian Blue Mountains, about ten years ago, and fell in love with the area I declared that one day I would walk the Six Foot Track.  The 45 kilometre walk is both incredibly scenic and historic. It was constructed in the 1880’s as a bridle track from Katoomba to the Jenolan Caves and it is indeed six foot wide to, originally, allow two laden horses to pass.

What’s this got do with a Love List?  Well, when I completed the walk I shared a photo of celebration with friends and commented that I’d ticked another item off my bucket list.  A wonderful friend of mine shared my delight and suggested that I call it a Love List instead of a bucket list.

“What a great idea” I thought.  A bucket list focuses on the inevitable end of one’s life (which is not in itself a bad thing of course but the connotations are somewhat negative and conjures a sense of quiet desperation) whereas a Love List encapsulates life and energy and the present. A Love List is more of a celebration of living rather than trying to beat the clock.  I like it!

I have a list of places to go, challenges to complete as well as fun activities I’d like to achieve sometime in the near future. From that larger list I created a smaller list to focus on this year. Reflecting on my 2014 Love List this Easter season I realise I have officially achieved several of those goals and I am delighted.  Many of the items on my list are small, fun things such as visit my Nana every three to four weeks, take a photo a day and practice yoga three times a week. Other items require a little more planning such as visit Mon Repos, near Bundaberg, to see the Turtles laying their eggs. Something I’ve been meaning to do since I lived there 20 odd years ago.

Completing the Six Foot Track walk was one of those larger items on my list.  As I was travelling back from the Jenolan Caves to Blackheath after the walk it hit me that I’d just met a long held dream.  I had actually completed something I’d spoken about for years. I realise it isn’t climbing Everest or finding a cure for cancer but this small achievement left me momentarily speechless and full of emotion. Now, I feel a great sense of satisfaction and I’m enjoying the warm after glow of achieving a dream.  I’m allowing myself time to savour the moment before deciding on the next “big” adventure I’ll manifest.

Satisfied and elated at having achieved a dream.

Satisfied and elated at having achieved a dream.

Having a Love List gives me something out of the ordinary to work toward, to look forward to and to dream about. It keeps me motivated, excited and full of anticipation.  It’s a way for me to celebrate life. Do you have Love List?  I’d like to hear one or two of the dreams you have on yours.

Committed to creating more life adventures,
Shannyn

10 thoughts on “Celebrating life with a Love List. Do you have one?

  1. Love this, so inspiring and beautiful like you.
    I was given a list to do years ago that went something like this, Imagining a fairy could grant your wishes you wrote down what you wanted to Do, Be and Have (from memory). I wrote my wishes and forgot about it, found it a few years later and was quite amazed what I could tick off. I have no idea where that list is now, packed in some box.
    Thanks for the reminder Shannyn, I may now go and do another Love List xox

      • Yes I am a wanderer at heart. I have had many wonderful experiences and many things are ticked off my list but new ones always find their way. I try to live in the moment and live big whether I am cycling in Europe or doing errands at home. I would love to go to Antarctica I must say. 🙂

  2. Love the blog – awesome idea Shannyn. I don’t think I have a long love list as such myself (maybe I do!) – I kind of just work on the next adventure or two. At the moment, my next two adventures would be going to Japan in the spring to see everything in bloom and taking a group of people away on an adventure to India to give them a truly unique experience.

    • That’s a definite Love List Nick. Cherry blossoms in Japan. That’s on my list as well and I’ve always wanted to go to India to practice yoga, meditate and enjoy the vibrant colours.
      Keep the adventures rolling.

Leave a Reply

