Are your stories holding back a wave of change?

There are watchers in this world and there are doers. And the watchers sit around watching the doers, do.
Barefoot in the Park

image

My son recently took part in the 40 hour famine, a weekend fast to raise money for families in third world countries. I was intrigued by the reaction he received from friends and acquaintances. Most were really supportive, none took up his challenge to join him but what surprised me the most were those who commented that they’d die if they gave up food for forty hours. Some claimed they couldn’t give up food for several hours and then there was the poor soul who unashamedly remarked that  they couldn’t possibly give up their chips and gravy on a Friday night.

On the final day of the challenge my community minded son volunteered to cook breakfast at a local fun run. Again, the comments and reactions of others intrigued me. Many, of course, were supportive yet questioned his sanity in cooking bacon and eggs for others while fasting himself. But the number of detractors surprised me. Yes, yes, I’m sure it was all in jest but a mother does always want to protect her young. One cocky fellow posted on social media that he’d seen my son tucking into a bacon and egg burger and labelled his efforts as a ‘massive fail’. Oh, I was irate (protective mother hen coming out). I fumed and fumed, wondering if I could address this flippant fellow in a firm but gentle way. I was saved the trouble when he was publicly corrected by another.

I digress.

My interest was piqued by the thinking behind the conversations that arose from this event. I began to ponder the stories we tell ourselves and the implications they have on our society.

I have concluded that some of us tell ourselves we couldn’t possibly do without things, or give up a tradition or change a habit because, perhaps, it’s easier not to. Some of us cut others down who do things we aren’t brave enough to do. Then there are those who gladly and wholeheartedly support others in their quests. These people fall into two categories: those happy to cheer others on while remaining in their comfort zones and those who cheer while pursuing their own challenges alongside them.

I see this played out in the community and the world. We pass things by, overlook issues and justify our inaction safe in the knowledge that others will take up the torch and do the work for us. We are relieved from our duty by the heroes in the world.

Alone, our heroes make a difference in the world, they get things done but their efforts are akin to a splash in the ocean, whereas, if we all pitched in and got involved we could create a wave of change in the world.

image

With this in mind I asked myself these questions:

What are my stories and how are they holding me back from making a change I’d like to see in my life and the world?

What will it take to step outside my comfort zone, to put myself on the line, to contribute to a wave of change?

What are your thoughts?
20140728-190734-68854521.jpg

9 thoughts on “Are your stories holding back a wave of change?

  1. Good on your son! (And for you protective mother hen for raising a child with such kind values!) I was surprised during the meditation courses at how little food I needed once I trusted my body and entered into a calm place. There are so many things that drive us to stand on the sidelines, but mainly it’s fear. There is no neutral path, non participation is a choice with impacts on ourselves and others. This is one of our delusions. Thanks for the thoughtful post! sx

  2. Fantastic post. Truly a great message. I have spent a great deal of my life being called crazy, bonkers and hearing ” Why would you want to do that?”, “Are you nuts?”. At first it really irritated me and then became a psychological study. What is it in people that watching others step out of the comfort zone, push the limits, give extended hours to those i that makes them feel as though they need to bring the other down? Multitudes of reasons i expect.
    Bravo to your son and bravo to you Mother Hen for raising a kid who doesn’t care what others think and gets out there and volunteers. I’m cheering wildly.

    • Sue, you obviously understand what I was thinking while witnessing the situation. You got it right, it is a psychological study. People are threatened in a way and made uncomfortable when others do things out of the norm. I remember several years ago when I stopped drinking alcohol I stopped being invited out with friends. I just didn’t fit the ‘norm’. Kind of makes you want to go further, push harder and do more, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

