Routine is Deadly, Create your own Happy Maps

image

Logic will take you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.

Albert Einstein

How often does the busyness of life dictate that we get from A to B via the shortest possible route?

We are so conditioned to shaving time off travel and maximizing our days that routine becomes the norm. Routine certainly has its place, its predictable, familiar and allows us to slip into automaticity. We can zone out because we are on familiar ground.

I love routine. Well, that’s not entirely true. I used to really thrive on routine and structure. I had every part of my life so very structured that it “flowed” without hiccough. After years and years of this and losing myself in the sameness of each day I started to branch out and seek little moments of beauty, change and difference. I chose joy over the safety of monotony.

imageDaniele Quercia gave a really cool TED talk entitled Happy Maps. Who wouldn’t want to listen to a talk with that title, right? As an inner city bike rider he got to thinking about how our mobile devices and GPS’s provide us with the simplest route between A and B, often this is the shortest route. By accident one day he veered off the simple route and discovered a quiet, un-trafficked road. Prompted by this discovery he is creating an app that offers users an option to the simple path – the most enjoyable path. He plans to offer different paths: the happiest path, the most beautiful path or the quietest path between two points. Decisions are based on random sampling of the public. What a smashing idea!

Daniele’s talk made me realise I’ve been doing this intuitively the last few weeks. Having begun in a new workplace I have an interesting journey to work. No longer do I turn up to a workplace with a designated car park. Now I park a good fifteen-minute walk from my building. This was initially a shock to my system. But the beauty of this current situation strikes me each day.

Not only has an old routine been changed, I now have so many routes from car to work available to me that I’m constantly changing things up to suit my mood, the weather and to account for the different times of day and foot traffic. I can make decisions based on the quietest path, the most relaxing (with green space) the funkiest option past groovy bookstores, cafes and neat architecture. There is one highlight of my daily journey that never changes. I pass by the Conservatorium of Music and by some amazing feat of engineering, whether by design or otherwise, there is a spot on the footpath where, by way of a piece of metal decoration, chamber music from within is channeled onto the street. Each afternoon I receive strange stares from passersby who wonder at my loitering on the street. Obviously they have not discovered the beauty and wonder of this seemingly anaesthetic piece of sidewalk.

Another afternoon I was delighted by a simple discovery. Instead of turning right out of my building I went left and around the block and came across a sight I’ve not see before. For twenty-five years I have seen a Brisbane landmark, the needle, towering over buildings from many locations. Imagine my surprise to find myself at its base for the first time in a quarter of a century. Incredible. Yes, yes, I know small things do excite me!

image

Quercia, in his address, implores listeners to avoid the danger of the simple path, he encourages us to escape the fabricated world and experience our journeys.

Embracing change is hard when routine is habitual but hey life is too short to lose ourselves in the monotonous, the mundane, the simple path. Just one day a week go a different way. Stop to look at the way the buildings are placed in the landscape, check out that piece of public art you pass each day without noticing, browse the window display in the bookshop on the way. If you are driving do all this with care and caution of course.

Go well. Choose your own happy maps. Create change in your life. It really is as good as a holiday.

10 thoughts on “Routine is Deadly, Create your own Happy Maps

  1. Love it love it …you are so right . I will do just that …no I’ll do better I will change direction three time a week and if it brings joy I’ll do it for the other four days of the week . Great idea .
    Cherryx

  2. excellent! and said to make new neural pathways by changing routines into new and different ways. Would have to help with flexibility in a lot of areas I suppose. I love going different ways to see where it comes out. That app sounds a lot of fun too. I like the sound of the chamber music on the street too. Seeing magic anew, I guess you could say with new eyes, fresh eyes. Love your words and how you can share so clearly. xox

    • Vicki, your comments always warm me. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement.

      You are an explorer with an inquisitive nature. I can see in my minds eye you tramping different paths all over New Zealand discovering and rediscovering the land you are from and the magic within. Enjoy your happy maps. Hey, wouldn’t it be fun to draw some of them with little images and symbols to represent not only the great places we see but how we felt there too. Now that’s a thought. 😃

  3. I love this idea! I typically do take the quick, easy and normal path but every so often I turn off my hurry meter and take the time to go somewhere I haven’t been before and I usually surprise myself at what I find.

Leave a Reply

