Skylarking: a slow sweet Sunday

 

12959311_1124251717605762_967710502_o

I went to the bank and asked to borrow a cup of money. They said, “What for?”
I said, “I’m going to buy some sugar.” — Steven Wright

Last weekend I went on a sweet journey to sugar heaven.

It all began with my beloved bemoaning that the lolly shop, at the nearby shopping centre, no longer stocked a particular type of lolly. He calls them ‘talkies’. I know them as ‘conversations’. Do you know the ones? They are usually shaped like hearts, come in a variety of pastel colours. They’re a hard chalky lolly with little messages written on them. Sweet little messages like “I love you”, “You’re cute”, ” Be mine”.

Remembering a small advertisement I’d seen recently I suggested he try one of the confectionary warehouses.  A quick google search revealed that the one I had in mind did indeed stock these conversation candies, in varying weights from 300g to a kilo, all at very reasonable prices.  That little tidbit of information was filed away with only  a modicum of interest by my sweet toothed beloved.

Sunday morning unfolded in a relaxed manner with breakfast on the deck and reading the papers before I was very romantically invited to join said beloved on a trip to the hardware store; a date I wouldn’t miss it for anything.

Having sated ourselves with our browsing of timber fence palings, posts and rails and with few other plans for the day,  I suggested we check out the candy warehouse.  There was some hesitation from my partner in crime as it required a jaunt across our fair city. Several moments later however we ventured out in search of (one of) his favourite childhood sweets.

The drab old warehouse gave nothing away as to the delights within. It’s exterior was dull compared to the bright and colourful interior. On entering the we were greeted by an enchanting bouquet that was akin to the joy of waking, as a child, on Christmas morning and seeing a well stocked Santa bag at the foot of the bed. It was heavenly.

We scampered about, aisle after aisle, oohing and ahhing and exclaiming “remember these”, “look at this”. We were surprised by the massive sizes of some packages and the wide variety of chocolates, lollies, nuts, and other products. Needless to say my offer to grab a basket upon entry, that was initially ignored, was soon accepted. My husband was like, well, a kid in a candy store.

As the basket quickly  filled  I heard cries of needing to rationalise the quantity of the selections already made. Before approaching the register, one lone kilo packet of jelly beans was left behind and we scarpered out the door with a year’s supply of  swagger.

As a non sugar eater myself, though I do confess to regularly having sweet cravings, I marvel that I  enjoy browsing lolly shops and bakeries without salivating. I did, however, make two small purchases; there was something for everyone. The  deal on cacao nibs drew my attention and I was overjoyed at finding my favourite decaf black tea, currently difficult to find elsewhere. We both left skipping with the joy of a fun purchase.

Hold the bells, I’m not advocating a diet high in processed sugar. Everything in moderation should always be the mantra, though I can’t say just how long this stash will last given the ‘healthy’ appetite for junk food my darling possesses.

Sometimes it’s the little things; like spending time together, making new discoveries and releasing your inner child that are the sweetest treats in life. How sweet does your weekend look?

8 thoughts on “Skylarking: a slow sweet Sunday

  1. What a fabulous date! A candy warehous4e. Oh my I’m afraid I would go wild in such a place. It is fun to find the candies of one’s childhood. A historical sugar tracing. 🙂

  2. Oh I love this post 🙂 That you can be so different in your tastes yet share the joy without judgement. Toby’s admiration for D went through through the roof when he discovered their shared love of sweet things 🙂

  3. That looks like it was a lot of fun! I know what I am like in Bunnings (usually leave at least $100 lighter) so I am not sure I would tempt fate by visiting that place 😛

  4. I think over here in the U.K we call those sweets love hearts . That warehouse was like walking back to childhood . Did you ever have love hearts on a neckless ❓ oh and pink chocolate mice ❓ did you have triangle bags of sherbet ❓
    Hey I’m getting carried away . Isn’t that what childhood does for us . Where is Charlie and the Choclate factory… ❓❓😉
    Cherryx

    • Cherry, I could hear your inner child bubbling up. 😍 I had candy bracelets similar to the love hearts. I’ve seen little white mice but we probably had white frogs more than the mice. 😍 My favourite sherbet came in a cylinder with a stick of liquorice for a dipper. They looked a little like fat pencils. My all time favourites were Berty Beetles. They were like coconut rough beetle shaped chocolates. Yum😍😍😍.

Leave a Reply

