Interviewing David

image

“I’m a little bit naked, but that’s okay.”
― Lady Gaga

If you could interview a work of art, what would it be and what would you ask?  This sounds like a pretty random idea, I know, but it came from listening to a radio interview by Richard Fidler, on Conversations. He was talking with a gentleman who had a very unique, full body tattoo and at one point Richard commented that he’d never interviewed a work of art before.  It got me thinking, what a neat idea.

The hardest part of this scenario, once you’ve taken the leap into the quirky world of oddity and imagination, is selecting just one artwork to interview.  How do you choose one piece that you’d love an audience with to get to know better from a world full of magnificent works? I’ve visited some of the most magnificent galleries in the world and enjoyed the talent of local artists as well as great masters. I appreciate and am enthralled by a variety of mediums, subjects and artistic styles. Yes, choosing just one is tricky. So I simply shut my eyes and decided on the first image that came to mind. It was a close tie between Michelangelo’s David and the Venus de Milo.

In the end, I thought David might be fun. Now, I’m never going to be an award-winning journalist and I’m sure, once I post this piece I will think of a trillion other questions but here were my initial thoughts, interests, curiosities.

David, I imagine it gets pretty tiring having droves of people comment on how large and out of proportion your hands are each day. What other unique challenges do you face?

Do you suffer from body image issues?

What do you feel is your most endearing feature?

If you could swathe yourself in a single outfit, what fabric would you choose?

You have one day to do anything you like. Where would you go and what would you do?

How do you feel about Michelangelo after all this time? If you were to meet now, what would you share with him?

Your surroundings are pretty stark. What’s your favourite colour?

Can you account for your continued celebrity?

Tell me about your earliest memory.

Where would you like to be five years from now?

What did I miss? What would you have asked in addition? Like I said, no Pulitzer Prizes for award-winning journalism for me but this exercise, as well as being a bit of quirky fun, challenged me to think in different and creative ways and that’s a good thing to do occasionally. I also found I was anticipating the responses and I now have a different viewpoint from which to think. Pretty neat.

How could you challenge yourself to think outside the realms of  the everyday?

4 thoughts on “Interviewing David

  1. Ha ha what an interesting thing to do . I sometimes think I’m not clever enough to answer your intuitive questions Syannon 🙃
    A painting that has always fascinated me is ‘The Scream ‘by Edvard Munch. I would like to jump in the painting and join the guy / girl scream with them , maybe stamp a little and throw our toys out of the picture, then when we’d all screamed out , I’d put my hands on his / her shoulders and say there, there my dear . Let’s go and enjoy what’s left of the sunset with a glass of rose (wine ) …good plan ❓❓
    Cherryx

    • That does sound like a good plan Cherry. Now that’s a pretty neat intuitive response. 😄
      That painting has fascinated me for years. I remember first discussing it in art class way back in year 12. I was enthralled by it and have been ever since. To imagine the dear woman having a friend to go sip Rose with is a satisfying thought. I like where your imagination went with that. 👍😉❤️

Leave a Reply

