A bundle of little things I’m loving right now

12922196_10153552458823652_59255099_o

Life is a great bundle of little things.
Oliver Wendell Holmes

Sometimes we get so caught up in trying to accomplish something big, that we fail to notice the little things that give life its magic.    Author unknown

There are times I find myself consumed by certain things in life. I look forward to them passionately, I think about them often and I enjoy indulging in them regularly.  Currently I’m having a love affair with logic puzzles, matcha tea, podcasts, commuting by bus and riceless nori rolls, oh, and House of Cards (but everyone loves that TV series, right?).  It’s a pretty eclectic and quirky mix, I admit, but I’m enthralled all the same.

Podcasts – Conversations with Richard Fidlercover170x170
I had to go on a road trip, solo, recently. I don’t enjoy listening to music as I often can’t settle on one style or artist for long.  I prefer to listen to audio books; the ‘voice’ feels like company. Realising my departure date was upon me and I was sans audio book I sent a desperate message to a friend and asked if she had anything. Disappointment set in when she replied with a no. She did however have a CD of radio conversations that she listens to on long trips.  I hadn’t heard of them before but I was open to giving it a go.

Oh. My. Goodness!!!! I was hooked from the first interview. Richard Fidler, a presenter for the ABC radio, hosts hour-long conversations with a wide range of local and international guests. His guests speak on a range of topics such as, but not limited to; science, art, history, crime, business, entertainment, politics and health. While some celebrities are interviewed often guests are ordinary people with exceptional stories. Richard is a remarkable host. He is compassionate and passionate, he is inquisitive and knowledgable, he is warm, and funny and very generous.

My friend’s CD of 27 interviews lasted me my trip and back and then several weeks more. Having played my last interview the car fell into silence and zipping about the city wasn’t as interesting as it has been the previous few weeks.  I had laughed, I’d cried, I was outraged, sobered and elated by the stories. I immersed myself into the life of another, an hour at a time. I felt an emptiness without this ‘contact’ to the world outside my little sphere. I am now subscribing to the podcast and I’ll create my own playlist of conversations to entertain, inform and intrigue me.

Matcha tea                                                                 My Christmas morning Matcha

Several years ago I saw an advertisement for this bright green, powdered tea and became curious. It was difficult to source but eventually I found an online company and had some delivered.  I can’t recall if my love affair began at first sight or if it was a slow burning passion that eventually ignited. Now, of course I’m head over heels with matcha. It’s my go to early morning pick me up – if I need it – and it’s a nice mid morning alternative to my regular green tea or chai. It’s extraordinarily versatile. I’ve created rocket fuel matcha, I drink it plain or with added almond or coconut milk, I’ve added it to my brain boosting keto balls and various other baked delights. I am smitten by the flavour, taste and the lovely gentle energy enhancing properties of matcha.

I have purchased matcha at a couple of coffee shops (not everyone stocks it) but they are waaaayyyy too sweet. I drink mine unsweetened. I’ve spotted matcha shakes, full of ice-cream which is no good for my lactose free belly but I did discover a nice matcha frappe – just ice, almond milk and tea. It was divine in our hot and humid Australian summer. I imagine matcha is an acquired taste (it’s kind of earthy which is why so many people add sweeteners, I guess)  but I encourage you to be adventurous and try it.

Logic Puzzles13035591_10153595017618652_473870154_o
I love a good puzzle. I am a jigsaw puzzle and crossword fan from way back. The problem with jigsaws is they are not easily portable.  Crosswords and jigsaws were usually left for holiday indulgences until I discovered mini puzzle books. Being introduced to Sudoku a while back I have worked my way through several books – carrying them and code cracker mini books with me when I fly for work. I also have several in my draw at work for lunch breaks. A few seasons ago I branched out and purchased a book of logic puzzles to take on a beach holiday.  My brain hurt horribly. Initially, I couldn’t work out how to do them. The simple ones were a breeze but I got stuck on the more complex puzzles. Not one to easily give up when faced with a puzzle challenge, I grappled for days trying to ‘crack the code’ so to speak. Just as my beloved was shaking his head and encouraging me to ‘give it away’, to ‘relax’, the penny dropped and I finally ‘got it’.

Now I try to complete a logic puzzle every day before leaving for work. I’ve recently purchased a  different publication, it’s much harder than those I’m used to, and I don’t always crack it before leaving the house. So weekends are a joy for me. Over a matcha tea, or two, I smash out two or three logic puzzles before I get moving. They say it’s good to work your brain to ward off Alzheimer’s and other brain degenerative diseases. I hope they’re right. I worry at times I’m doing more damage than good because I can literally feel my brain working. Some days the puzzle is so tricky my head hurts, I feel a fog descend and I get dizzy. (Doesn’t sound like much fun does it?) Understandably, the harder they are to solve the more satisfaction I feel. I’m a cheap date, I know!

Commuting13016707_10153595040898652_1362247351_o
Okay. I don’t LOVE commuting. It’s not as convenient as having a car to zip around in BUT it does have massive advantages apart from being kinder on the environment and saving a packet on car parking. Since I began commuting to work this year I have read, so many books I’ve lost count. I look forward to jumping on that bus, settling down and diving into my book.

I’ve been an avid reader since childhood, it’s like magic to me. My favourite shops are bookshops and the hardware store. I remember traveling some years ago and finishing my fifth book. We were in non-english speaking countries and I was weeks without a book and began to crave language and words I could understand. I felt a physical need to clutch a book in my hands and drink in the story within.  As luck would have it we stumbled across a secondhand store in Nimes, France. There was a single box of English novels on a trolley out the front. I poured over and revelled in the luxury of those books before making my selection. So, to have free time to read, in a busy schedule, is a pure indulgence. Hence my current love of commuting.

Riceless nori rolls

I have been craving nori. Yep, weird stuff I know (nori and matcha, what a combination). Nori contains vitamins C and A, magnesium and potassium. Clearly my body is looking to fill a gap in the minerals department. Sushi rolls leave me feeling dissatisfied on a whole range of levels. I prefer to eat my nori rolls without rice. It’s fun to make your own fillings: smashed avocado, tahini, mashed roast pumpkin, smoked salmon, cucumber, carrot, salad greens, roasted eggplant and egg are a few of my favourites. The choices and combinations are endless. Cut into bite sized pieces these make an easy snack or a hearty lunch. So simple, so versatile, so yummy and healthy too!

Do you find there are times when you are all or nothing with certain things? What’s caught your fancy lately?

4 thoughts on “A bundle of little things I’m loving right now

  1. I love audio books when I am doing long distance driving. Really feels like you have someone with you! We are currently all consumed with the new grand baby. amazing how all other interests have fallen away in this haze of newborn bliss. 🙂

  2. All interesting stuff Shannyn , must try the tea .
    I’m going through a ‘bland ‘ time at the moment . Definately not a good word ‘bland ‘ extremely negative to be honest but I can only describe it as transgression , change , newness . All the things I’ve been ‘in to ‘ are a little stale . I have stared a vague list of new things but it’s giving myself a kickstart into action , if you get my drift .
    Whilst getting into that mode of thought , I am enjoying the best month of the year here in the U.K. ‘May’ . I’m having a bit of lone time too , I’m sure you approve 🌷🌷🌷🌷
    Cherryx

    • Cherry, I know that stage. That time when things fall away, the time of stillness before new ideas and new focus are established. Enjoy your in between time and relish your lone time. 💞💞💞

Leave a Reply

