Cradled by a posy of blessings

Train tracks in rural area.

If you take a deep breath, calm down and listen, all things can be dealt with in some way. Just breathe.
                                                                    Katrina Vella

Do you ever feel like you are derailing? That life is so hectic you don’t know whether you are coming or going? I’ve had a few weeks like that. I’ve been working on a wide range of projects at work (all terribly exciting and totally divergent) all with short timelines. I’ve traveled so much for work recently that one morning I woke up and didn’t know where I was. Feeling the pressure of deadlines and being in constant transit took a physical and mental toll. I felt like I was trapped in a fast-moving train heading for a cliff.  Several dear friends and family members have suffer personal tragedies, and while it’s not me experiencing that terrible grief,  it’s heartbreaking not to be able to ease their pain.

Of course I realised something had to give before I crashed or plunged into the depths of some great abyss. As I took action in that direction, the universe conspired to deliver a posy of blessings.

I took a day to find some calm. I always have a sense of unease taking a day off work, even when it is sanctioned, and this day was no different. However,  as the day unfolded I realised that I’d made the right decision and settled.

On the eve of this magical day I went to the cinema, something I don’t do often. I’d won tickets to the pre-release of a film. It wasn’t a great film but I appreciated the night out, it was fun, especially because it was out of routine. Arriving home I didn’t set my alarm for my usual 4.30 am rise and I snuggled down under a warm comforter, as the temperature had dropped significantly.

Arousing from my slumber I was surprised to note I’d slept an hour later than usual.  Feeling slightly dazed but energised I hit the pavement for my walk. It was brisk out.  I went out in my usual gear of shorts and t-shirt but others were rugged up in long pants and jumpers.  Walking later, after the sun had risen, I met a lot of people I don’t normally encounter and so had many warm interactions, smiles and good mornings from people I haven’t met before. Of course my attire was the focus of many comments. While it was brisk I was warm from the movement. These random interactions were buoying.

What was especially warming about my walk was being transported back to my childhood, and into my grandparents’ kitchens, when the distinct aroma from the Weet-Bix factory enveloped the air around me. Weet-Bix are a wheat based biscuit breakfast cereal here in Australia. I don’t eat them now and I never really enjoyed them in the warmer weather but in winter time, my grandmothers would pour warm water over them to soften them, then heat milk on the stove to drown them in, after swirling lashings of honey over the top. It wasn’t exactly food for the gods but the smell of warm Weet-Bix is divine. Being  reminded of the many winter mornings I had spent being loved and cared for by my Grandmothers was a beautiful omen for the day.

Arriving home I sent my friend a message and received a thoughtful blessing from her. She wished me an enjoyable day and “some peaceful space” with a little emoji flower attached🌸. Simple words but their beauty and the heartfelt care and concern behind them struck me.

Flicking briefly onto a social media site the first post I came across was from another friend, whose flower photo seemed to fill the room with its vibrant colour.  It was a simple flower, nothing flashy about it, but it had a stunning effect, and lifted my mood.

13177626_10153409201437186_7640727075549171753_n

I baked cookies and soon had my house smelling like a warm and buttery. I love the smell of cookies baking at the best of times but on a cold day, there’s something extra special about it.

13214558_10153642822043652_1261874500_o

I felt as though someone had picked a posy of wild flowers and delivered them to me this morning. I was caught in a net, suspended and cradled from a fall. I was reminded that amid all the sadness, the hustle and bustle and the struggles of life, there is joy and beauty and a multitude of blessings. The key is to take the time to see them and appreciate them. I was reminded too by the words of a wise woman who counsels that; if you take a deep breath, calm down and listen, all things can be dealt with in some way. Just breathe.

Wishing you a posy of blessings today too.

lovak_045

 

10 thoughts on “Cradled by a posy of blessings

  1. Beautiful Shannyn. So pleased you took time out to catch up with your Self. Flowers, the simple yet profound beauty and depth of healing flowers do bring. I went to school across the road from the Sanitarium factory, I know that weetbix smell! xo

  2. Shannyn good for you to find this wonderful day to rejuvenate and re-energize. I commend you for seeing the need for self care and then ensuring that you took the time to do it.

    • That’s the trick isn’t it Sue, actually taking the step to do something about it. I recognise the need often but hesitate to take action to rejuvenate. 😊.
      It’s lovely, as always, to hear from you. I’ve been thinking of you enjoying your grandma duties.

  3. Oooooooohhhh Shannyn you have a way with words that is calming to the mind . When I see your post pop up , I can’t JUST read it I have to SAVOUR it ..take it somewhere to enjoy it .
    I know you are a fan of Cauldrons and Cupcakes like me . Have you read yesterday’s blog from Nicole ? Well she advises ‘Grace days ‘ or F*ck days ( don’t blame me it was Nicole who wrote it 😀😀) A day when you can let everything slip …I think it’s a dam good idea . I actually don’t need a lot of prompting on that score I often allow myself the luxury …you should too ❤️
    Cherryx

    • Cherry, you are so warm and encouraging. Thank you. 💖🌸💖
      Funny thing, I did see Nicole’s post last night and I thought how synchronisitc it was that we should write about the same thing.
      I am good at recognising the signs that things are going awry but I’m not always so good at allowing the space for a grace day. I do use the word ‘f$&k it’ quite a bit though when I’m nearing the end of my tether. 😉 Hopefully this will be an easy lesson to learn.😊❤️😊

Leave a Reply

