Gone hiking

On a hike, the days pass with the wind, the sun, the stars; movement is powered by a belly full of food and water, not a noxious tankful of fossil fuels. On a hike, you’re less a job title and more a human being….A periodic hike not only stretches the limbs but also reminds us: Wow, there’s a big old world out there.”
― Ken Ilgunas

I’m off on an adventure to the heart of my country. There’s a trail out there that winds along for 223 kilometres, broken into 12 sections. I’m not walking the whole trail, just a few sections of it. My beloved and I will walk for six days, carrying all we need in our packs. We will sleep with our backs to the red earth and be surrounded, night and day, by the spirit of this amazing country we live in and the spirit of the traditional owners of the land who have passed before us. I’m sure I will have some tales to share when I return.

4 thoughts on “Gone hiking

  1. Ahhhhhhh Shannyn you lucky , lucky thing you . I can’t wait till you come back from your adventures and tell all . Can you remember , the sounds , the sights , the smells , the tastes as well as the tales because it’s all the nitty gritty that people forget .
    Have a super time ✨⭐️💙🌞☂🍃🌾🌛
    Cherryx

    • Cherry, there were so many sights, sounds, tastes, smells. It was a sensory orgy. The experience was so incredible I’m hardy able to describe it. You saw Duncan’s video, that shows a little of what it was like. Amazing stuff.

Leave a Reply

