Diving into life

_448725

You’ll never be disappointed if you always keep an eye on uncharted territory, where you’ll be challenged and growing and having fun.     Kirstie Alley

I celebrated a birthday this week and decided to treat myself. No it wasn’t a BIG birthday, though each birthday is a big bonus. I usually go pretty low-key on my birthday, let it slip by without causing a blip but this year I made plans. I booked in for a skydive.

There’s a small caveat I should add – it was indoor skydiving. I’m not known for being outrageously spontaneous or reckless so I figure you can’t go from zero to 100 right off the bat.

The experience was immensely entertaining and massively good fun. Ten other flyers aged from 4 through to late 60’s arrived for a morning of high-speed adventure.  After a short training session we suited up in overalls, goggles, earplugs and a helmet. I’m not sure how the instructor expected us to hear him once earplugs and helmet were firmly in place but we did manage through sign language.

We took seats in the viewing area around the twelve-foot vertical wind tunnel into which we would soon venture.  It’s always amusing watching people try to manouver into the first position when faced with a queue.  Strangely, there was no jockeying or positioning this day.  Perhaps, like me, no one really wanted to be first, despite the excitement.  This is one of those rare occasions where I knew it would be beneficial to watch someone do it before I had my attempt.  Having successfully secured the third position I took mental notes, between cheering and clapping, laughing and grinning like a Cheshire cat, and was sure I could overcome the body alignment issues my fellow flyers had encountered.

It’s fascinating how difficult it is to maintain control over your limbs when you’ve literally been swept off your feet and buoyed by a surge of air.  A surge of air that is causing your nostrils to flare alarmingly, like that of a skittish steed. Once I’d reassured myself I could breath, despite my initial alarm, I was heady and slightly disoriented and I couldn’t stop laughing. That was until I realised I had little control over my saliva and that it was now dampening my face (I had wondered why the instructor wore a helmet with a full face cover.) Trying to laugh with a closed mouth, breathe, ensure my legs and arms were positioned well and smile for the camera was an awful lot to pay attention to all at once.  My certificate states I can fly with minimal assistance, move up and down in the air flow, turn 360 degrees as well as hold a still, controlled body position.  I have a way to go to fly to a given point and move forward or backward apparently.  I had no idea I could do so much in so short a time frame – it really wasn’t a conscious effort.  I’m almost sure it was all luck.

_448726

Indoor skydiving was a most unusual and exciting experience. It’s quite unlike anything else, expect, I imagine, jumping out of a plane. As a result of this and another recent exhilarating escapade in an escape room I am on the hunt for fun and exciting experiences to add to my love list (more commonly known as a bucket list). Any ideas?

7 thoughts on “Diving into life

  1. Plane is next! It will feel even more exhilarating and a true sense of freedom. Good for you having a fun birthday and doing something different. Go you!

    • Lol. Yes, Sue you are not short of ideas. I’ve been keen on zorbing for a while now and I’m keen on swinging on a trapeze. Oh, and parasailing has always piqued my interest and I was reminded I must follow up on that by your blog some time ago. 😊 I just need to watch your blog for more ideas. 😊
      Thank you for the birthday wishes.

  2. Wow what an exciting thing to do for your birthday . I’m so glad you enjoyed it . It’s seems more fun than being locked up but to each his own I guess . We usually go out for a meal for my birthday, which is terribly boring , I really fancy doing something challenging like what you did . The only trouble us it’s a bit low key and 20 years behind here in West Wales …but don’t tell em I told you 😀😂😊😘
    Cherryx

    • Cherry it was a really good way to celebrate. It feels like I actually had a birthday. I can’t believe I’ve spent the last 20 years not celebrating. Dinner out is always nice too. My lips are sealed. Your confidence will not be betrayed😜😉👍.

Leave a Reply

