Harnessing the power of your emotions

… let’s harness the power of emotion to get things done, to lead fulfilling lives of integrity and adventure.  ― Shannyn Steel

“Joy is the holy fire that keeps our purpose warm and our intelligence aglow.”

― Helen Keller

I have completed a number of small projects around the house already this year and I feel a great sense of achievement. To actually get in and tick them off my ‘want to do’ list has made me feel, well, good.  I thought the emotion might be pride. I don’t  like the connotations connected to pride. On closer inspection I realise it’s joy I feel.  If the power of joy can help get things done and keep me motivated, I’m choosing joy as my motivator this year.

There is some research behind engaging with your emotions to create change in your life. Dr Tara Brach says we can use the eight main emotions to help us reach our goals.  As rational beings we require the power of emotional engagement to propel us and keep us motivated. For instance, someone might think the local creek needs to be cleaned up (rational thinking) but it may not be until their disgust (emotion) becomes the powerful motivator that they join the ‘clean up Australia day’, or similar, activity to restore it. Another’s anger may be the spark that leads them to campaign for equality. Love is powerful emotion that drives people to do incredible things for others.  Instead of shying away from or hiding our emotions, let’s harness the power of emotion to get things done, to lead fulfilling lives of integrity and adventure.

How might you engage with fear, anger, disgust, shame, sadness, love, joy and surprise to move you to take positive and purposeful action this year?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Harnessing the power of your emotions

  1. I am truly an emotional woman and can literally feel all those emotions in five minutes , then in the next five minutes , I’m doing it all again 😀 Just ask my husband , who is the kindest of men , but he just don’t ‘ get’ my emotions .
    If I had to do my life all over again and I was dished out extra helping of emotion, I’d stuff them all into my heart and do it all again because emotion is what get things moving , what gets you noticed , I guess . I’m not sure people around me would say that they’d probably call me a ‘ drama queen ‘ but who cares …I don’t ❤✨🌈
    Cherryx

Leave a Reply

